What colour of the traffic light are you?

Red? Yellow? Green?

Big Phil's Nook
6 min readApr 18, 2019
Photo by Harshal Desai on Unsplash

I recently went to Yaounde, the capital city of my country. Probably its the most beautiful city I have gone to so far. The streets are well organized and very beautiful. At every major junction in the town, there are some big bulbs which aid traffic. These big bulbs are called traffic lights. The English dictionary defines traffic light to be A road signal for directing vehicular traffic by means of coloured lights.

There are three different lights and each of them plays different functions. Typically the red light stands for a “stop”. When this bulb shines, irrespective of how big or small the cars, they all stop. The next is the green light. This colour stands for “go”. After the cars have been stopped by the red light, when the green light comes on, the cars can now continue to move to where they are heading to. The last and final colour that the traffic light emanates is the yellow light. This light stands to indicate that the roads are free and you can proceed with caution.

I noticed that there were some police people who were stationed by these traffic lights. their job was to catch those who default and bring them to justice. This made me understand that these light really played a vital role in ensuring proper circulation of cars and people on the roads. That also made me see that…

--

--

Big Phil's Nook

A balanced cloud computing expert and founder of Kallimera. I consider myself a world citizen, who gets my inspiration from the people I meet along my journeys.